Inhaling Drug in Bangladesh

           Living in Bangladesh is a brand new life for me. Things change from time to time. People here are more obedient. There are more rules for the citizens here than in Cambodia. For instance, no alcohol is allowed here. I almost forgot what a drunken person would react.

           I had been too comfortable with this country and where I lived that I almost thought totally positive about things here until one day. I was totally washed out the first time I saw two 5-year-old boys sitting on a dirty cart near a mountain of stinky trash looking up with one hand clutching tight with a white plastic bag and the other hand raising up high over their heads. They inhaled and giggled.

          It was not the first time that I have seen someone inhaling glue. In fact, inhaling glue is the other type of doing drug. Regular users are street or poor children and teenagers. I have seen a lot of street kids back in my country inhaling glue and it was not a surprise. This kind of drug using has been recognized since before the year 2000 in Cambodia.

          However, those kids, whom I saw along the road when I was on a rickshaw with my friend, are the first kids I saw who inhaled glue in Bangladesh. It was very upsetting to watch them across the street and unable to do or say anything. It was even more disappointing to realize that no one around them care to notice what they were doing. They were completely ignored as if they were alone.

          Now I do have a question that some of my Bangladeshi friends refused to answer – what would the government reaction be when it came to this particular issue in Bangladesh? Do people get used to having seen street children inhaling glue? What would people think of them?

P.S: If you have a problem finding a good rehab in Chittagong, please go this website and learn more about this particular social service place: http://bbcyourstory.com/2009/06/16/a-drug-rehab-centre-in-bangladesh/

4 Responses to “Inhaling Drug in Bangladesh”

  1. Meta, u know, im simply proud of u. u r not a bangladeshi, still u r doing “so many things” for bangladesh. u r creating public awareness among people as a global citizen.

    lots of things to learn from u.

    zishrat

  2. Thank you, Zishrat!

    Now Bangladesh is my second homeland since I might need to live here for not less than 6 years. In fact, I see people in personality’s category not in country’s category and therefore, it makes me feel uncomfortable to just stay here and ignore what I see.

    I feel like I need to do something even though it is not much in helping anything literally.

    I hope you and other Bangladeshi citizens would understand this particular issue and find more ways to help them – addicts.

  3. This would enabled sounds to travel from one position to the other, and hence from one speaker to the next.

  4. I hope so too…

Leave a Reply

